Italian Sub (Capicola) at Ziccolli's, Santa Cruz

Zocolli’s Deli, Santa Cruz

Italian Sub (Capicola) at Ziccolli's, Santa Cruz

Italian Club sandwich at Zoccoli’s Deli, Santa Cruz

What is there to say? Eating this beast of a sandwich, is the most gratifying aspect that Santa Cruz, CA has to offer. I mean, I guess there are the cliffed beaches, the dense forest, the deep caves, the great surf, the Banana Slugs,  the drugs, the human slugs, and actual slugs… But all that nonsense hails in comparison to Zocolli’s Deli, one of Santa Cruz’s oldest businesses dating back to the 1940’s.

Located downtown, I parked my car and hustled my way through the door. I took ticket number 24, and ordered the “Italian Club”.

The Italian Club comes with a pesto-mayonnaise blend, roasted turkey, ham, onions, roasted peppers, swiss cheese, lettuce and tomatoes, all on a ciabatta roll. I asked for capicola to be substituted for the ham. Not the biggest ham fan.

Everything was great about this sandwich, and I do mean everything. Between the two types of meats, the roasted peppers, the swish cheese, and the rest of the onslaught, there is never a dull moment.

Before I had taken my first bite, I still wasn’t sure how I felt about the pesto aioli. Mainly, I was worried that the pesto would be too strong and overpower the other flavors. But dayüm, did I change my mind as soon as the aioli touched my tongue.

Priced at $6.75, you really can’t beat it. Holy Catwoman, just thinking about it now makes my stomach grumble and mouth water.

I give Zocolli’s my Gotta Go! rating.

Leave a Reply

